JOURNEY WITH JONAH

Morning of Day 3 update

First an update on Jonah.  He had a good night last night, the bandage over his incision on his chest was removed.  He has been breathing on his own since a little after 4 pm yesterday and is doing well with that.  He is receiving oxygen through his nose but they are going to try to ween him off of that today.  They also may try to feed him today, he hasn’t eaten since 2:50 am on Wednesday morning.  His catheter was removed this morning and the plan is to remove the drain tube from his side today too.  They also had a pacemaker with the wires hanging out installed during surgery just in case they needed (heartblock issue) it which they didn’t so those have been disconnected and will be taken out soon. So we are seeing progress…Praise the Lord!  Here is a picture of Jonah with his battle scar!

Elijah holding Zeke and Jonah

On another note, Wednesday night I called my son Elijah to remind him of when he can take his medicine for the night …anyway as I was getting ready to say bye he innocently asked me “do you know when Jonah is supposed to come home?”  I wish I had prepared my children more than I did.  Elijah has been head over heals for his little brother Jonah from the day we brought him home from the NICU. He calls him the cutest baby ever and whenever Jonah coos Elijah will give him what he calls ‘baby noise kisses’; its precious to say the least.  This brought many things into perspective.  First of all it isn’t only Jonah and my wife and I that are in the thick of this, it’s his siblings and grandparents and other family and friends.  I know I’ve thanked you all many times for prayer and support, we are just so thankful for everyone!

Thursday morning I was reading II Corinthians and was truly blessed by the perspective it gave me on our current situation; especially how God comforts us.  Here are a few verses that stuck out to me:

3 Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies and God of all comfort, 4 who comforts us in all our affliction so that we will be able to comfort those who are in any affliction with the comfort with which we ourselves are comforted by God.  God is the one who is comforting us, not only Himself but also through brothers and sisters in Christ throughout the nation.  

 11 you also joining in helping us through your prayers, so that thanks may be given by many persons on our behalf for the favor bestowed on us through the prayers of many.  Thanks be to all of you for joining with us and helping us through this time by your prayers.  God is good!

God bless you all! ~ D

3 comments on “Morning of Day 3 update

  1. Laura
    July 15, 2011

    o look at that little love…..breaks my heart to see him have to go through this but praise Jesus he is healing quickly and it will be over for him and you soon. God bless you guys we are continuing to pray.

  2. Rhonda
    July 15, 2011

    Oh my goodness, I just found out today Jonah Dove had surgery three days ago. He looks well, but very, very sore and tender. I am so relieved to see he has come out of it so well. You have a very strong little boy there Joyce and Dan. Give him a sweet kiss for us.

    I was expecting to be notified through this blog of his status, but I did not receive any email updates. But all of you have been close in our hearts and prayers.

    One day I will have my turn to hold you Jonah Dove. <3

  3. Kathy Hensley
    July 15, 2011

    Dan and Joyce,

    I continue to pray for you, Jonah, and your family. Praise God for the healing He is bringing to Jonah. I know God has great plans for Jonah and for your family.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 15, 2011 by in Family, Heart Surgery, Jonah, Siblings.

Post Calendar

July 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

By Category

